Risk management framework

The Group has a Risk Management and Internal Control Framework (RMICF) that encompasses its major assets, business processes, lines of business, and management levels.

Inter RAO’s RMICF was established based on the principles of and approaches to the construction and operation of an effective risk management system described in the following documents:

  • Model of the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO) ‘Internal Control. Integrated Framework’
  • Model of the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO) ‘Enterprise Risk Management – Integrating with Strategy and Performance’
  • ISO/GOST R 31000
  • Corporate Governance Code recommended for use by Letter No.06-52/2463 of the Bank of Russia dated April 10, 2014
  • Guidelines for the Preparation of Regulations on the Risk Management System approved by an order of the Government of the Russian Federation dated June 24, 2015
  • Federal Law No.208-FZ dated December 26, 1995 “On Joint-Stock Companies”

Goals and objectives of the RMICF

The goals, basic principles, and common approaches to the organization of the RMICF are enshrined in the PJSC Inter RAO Risk Management and Internal Control Policy.

The RMICF ensures:

  • An objective, fair, and clear view of the Group’s current state and prospects
  • Reasonable confidence in achieving the goals set for the Group
  • A high level of trust among shareholders and investors in the Company’s management bodies
  • The protection of investments and assets and keeping risks within acceptable limits

Priorities of risk management and internal control in achieving the Group’s long-term and medium-term goals

Risk management and internal control activities are systematic, comprehensive, and integrated into strategic and operational management at all levels, covering all departments and employees as they perform their functions within any of the Group’s business processes or activities.

The effectiveness of risk management and internal control is attained by prioritizing risk management efforts and implementing control procedures taking into account the criticality of risks and factors. Priority is given to risks that can have the greatest impact on deviations from targets and create the risk of failure to achieve the Group’s goals. The Group strives for an optimal balance in the range of response measures and control procedures and the magnitude of risk, i.e. it avoids ‘excessive’ control and management.

PRIORITIES OF RISK MANAGEMENT AND INTERNAL CONTROL IN ACHIEVING THE GROUP’S LONG-TERM AND MEDIUM-TERM GOALS

Scope

Decisions are adopted based on the scale of the RMICF being introduced at controlled entities taking into account the contribution of subsidiaries to the achievement of the Group’s overall indicators. Risk management and internal control procedures are introduced while taking into consideration their economic efficiency (correlation of the result of their introduction and the cost of resources (financial, managerial, or labor)). Currently, the scope of the RMICF covers 26 of the Group’s companies, which account for 96% of the Group’s IFRS revenue.

Risk management training

The Group attaches great importance to risk management training.


In 2019, more than 100 of the Group’s representatives involved in strategic and business planning as well as project management were trained at the Corporate Energy University. The training program ‘Organizing Risk Management in the Energy Sector’ was conducted in four cascades of one week each and included a quantitative risk assessment, specific aspects of risk management in the energy sector, the basics of project risks, and internal control methods. Upon completion of the exams, the students in the program were issued state certificates in risk management and internal control.

Role of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors determines the principles and approaches used to organize the RMICF and approve risk management and internal control policies, approves the amount of risk appetite for a planned period, critical risk maps, and critical risk management action plans, and also reviews reports on the functioning of the RMICF and reports evaluating the effectiveness of the RMICF on an annual basis.

Incentive system for identifying and monitoring risks [GRI 102–30]

The PJSC Inter RAO Board of Directors approved strategic development goals and priorities on the relationship between risk management and internal control and the Group’s Development Strategy (see the ‘Strategic Priorities’ section). Goals are set at the operational level to assess the achievement of strategic priorities and are included in the KPIs and PBs of the Company’s CEO and members of the Management Board (see the ‘Key Performance Indicators System’ section of this Report). A list of typical risks inherent in the Group’s activities is specified as part of the targets for the RMICF, and targets are set for which the impact of risks is assessed. A detailed breakdown of the Group’s strategic priorities on operational indicators and an assessment of the impact of risks on these indicators ensures the RMICF is integrated with the management incentive system and helps to effectively manage the Group’s companies taking into account their inherent risks.

Link of risk management and internal control to the Group’s Development Strategy

Система управления рисками

В Группе функционирует Система управления рисками и внутреннего контроля (СУРиВК), охватывающая существенные активы, бизнес-процессы, направления деятельности и уровни управления.

Формирование СУРиВК «Интер РАО» основывается на принципах и подходах к построению и функционированию эффективной системы управления рисками, изложенных в следующих документах:

  • модель Комитета спонсорских организаций Комиссии Тредвея (COSO) «Внутренний контроль. Интегрированная модель»;
  • модель Комитета спонсорских организаций Комиссии Тредвея (COSO) «Управление рисками организации. Интеграция со стратегией и эффективностью деятельности»;
  • ISO/ГОСТ Р 31000;
  • Кодекс корпоративного управления, рекомендованный к применению письмом Банка России от 10.04.2014 № 06–52/2463;
  • Методические указания по подготовке положения о системе управления рисками, одобренные поручением Правительства Российской Федерации от 24.06.2015;
  • Федеральный закон от 26.12.1995 № 208-ФЗ «Об акционерных обществах».

Цели и задачи системы управления рисками и внутреннего контроля

Цели, основные принципы и единые подходы к организации управления рисками и внутреннего контроля закреплены в Политике управления рисками и внутреннего контроля ПАО «Интер РАО».

Функционирование системы управления рисками и внутреннего контроля обеспечивает:

  • объективное, справедливое и ясное представление о текущем состоянии и перспективах Группы;
  • разумную уверенность в достижении поставленных перед Группой целей;
  • высокий уровень доверия акционеров и инвесторов к органам управления Общества;
  • защиту капиталовложений и активов и удержание рисков в допустимых пределах.

Приоритетные области управления рисками и внутреннего контроля при реализации долгосрочных и среднесрочных целей Группы

Деятельность по управлению рисками и внутреннему контролю является систематической, комплексной, интегрированной в стратегическое и операционное управление на всех уровнях, охватывающей все подразделения и работников при осуществлении ими своих функций в рамках любых бизнес-процессов и направлений деятельности Группы.

Эффективность управления рисками и внутреннего контроля достигается за счёт приоритизации усилий по управлению рисками и внедрению контрольных процедур с учётом критичности рисков и факторов. Приоритетное внимание уделяется рискам, способным оказать наибольшее влияние на отклонение от целевых показателей и создающих угрозу недостижения целей Группы. Группа стремится к оптимальному балансу комплекса мер реагирования и контрольных процедур и величины риска, то есть избегает «избыточного» контроля и управления.

PRIORITIES OF RISK MANAGEMENT AND INTERNAL CONTROL IN ACHIEVING THE GROUP’S LONG-TERM AND MEDIUM-TERM GOALS

Охват

Принятие решения о масштабе внедрения СУРиВК в подконтрольных лицах осуществляется с учётом вклада дочерних обществ в достижение общегрупповых показателей. Внедрение процедур управления рисками и внутреннего контроля осуществляется с учётом их экономической эффективности (соотнесение результата внедрения и величины затрат ресурсов (финансовых, управленческих, трудовых)). В настоящее время периметр распространения СУРиВК охватывает 26 компаний Группы, на которые приходится 96 % от выручки Группы по МСФО.

Обучение управлению рисками

Обучению в области управления рисками в Группе придаётся большое значение.


В 2019 г. в Корпоративном энергетическом университете прошли обучение более 100 представителей Группы, занятых в сфере стратегического и бизнес-планирования, а также управления проектами. Обучение по программе «Управление рисками организации в энергетике» проводилось в четыре потока по одной неделе каждый и включало количественную оценку рисков, специфику управления рисками в энергетике, основы проектных рисков и методы внутреннего контроля. По итогам экзаменов слушателям программы были выданы свидетельства государственного образца в области управления рисками и внутреннего контроля.

Роль Совета директоров

Совет директоров определяет принципы и подходы к организации СУРиВК и утверждение политик в области управления рисками и внутреннего контроля; осуществляет утверждение величины риск-аппетита на плановый период, карт критических рисков и планов мероприятий по управлению критическими рисками, а также рассмотрение на ежегодной основе отчётов о функционировании СУРиВК и отчётов об оценке эффективности СУРиВК.

Система мотивации выявления и контроля рисков [GRI 102–30]

Советом директоров ПАО «Интер РАО» утверждены стратегические цели и приоритеты развития (см. раздел «Стратегические приоритеты»). Для оценки достижения стратегических приоритетов устанавливаются цели операционного уровня, выполнение которых включено в КПЭ и КП Генерального директора и членов Правления Общества (см. раздел «Система ключевых показателей эффективности» настоящего Отчёта). В рамках целевых ориентиров СУРиВК определён перечень типовых рисков, присущих деятельности Группы, а также закреплены целевые показатели, на которые производится оценка влияния рисков. Декомпозиция стратегических приоритетов Группы на операционные показатели и оценка влияния рисков на данные показатели обеспечивает интеграцию СУРиВК с системой мотивации менеджмента и позволяет эффективно управлять компаниями Группы с учётом присущих им рисков.

Связь управления рисками и внутреннего контроля со Стратегией развития Группы