Internal audit

The main purpose of the internal audit is to assist the Board of Directors and executive bodies with enhancing the efficiency of the Company’s management and improving its financial and economic activities.

The goals, objectives, powers, and place of the internal audit in the Company’s organizational structure are defined in the Internal Audit Policy that was approved by the Board of Directors on August 21, 2015Minutes No. 152 dated August 24, 2015.. Internal audit functions at the Group are performed by the PJSC Inter RAO Internal Audit Unit and the internal audit divisions of the following subsidiaries: LLC Inter RAO – Power Generation Management and JSC Mosenergosbyt.

Internal audit activities are carried out in accordance with the work plan approved by the Board of Directors. The work plan for 2019 was completed in full and on time. The priority areas of internal audit activities are determined in accordance with the Company’s objectives taking into account the results of risk assessment. The audit plan covers all major segments of the Group’s business: Supply, Generation, Trading, and Engineering. Upon completion of the audit, recommendations were prepared to eliminate any shortcomings that were identified based on which management comes up with corrective action plans. The internal audit units control the execution of the plans through monitoring.

Results of 2019

Digitalization of internal audit

In September 2019, the Audit and Sustainable Development Committee of the Board of Directors gave instructions to develop a plan for the use of data analysis tools to perform internal audit tasks, including market research on specialized software, and to also train employees on using IT-methods to conduct audits.

As part of the activities performed by the Internal Audit Unit to provide guarantees in 2019, 107 audits were conducted (including 78 revision audits) as well as four evaluations of the effectiveness of systems and 28 monitoring surveys of the implementation of corrective action plans. The internal audit consulting activities included 11 consultations at the request of management.

Independent assessment of internal audit

In 2019, JSC Deloitte & Touche CIS conducted an independent external assessment of PJSC Inter RAO’s internal audit function for the first time.

The independent experts concluded that the Company’s internal audit activities fully comply with the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing and the Code of Ethics of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). This assessment encompasses the Company’s organizational structure, policies and procedures as well as the processes in which they are applied.

Key findings from the assessment:

  • The Internal Audit Unit’s activities are built on the principles of independence and objectivity and received high praise from the Company’s management
  • The audit plan includes various types of audits (an evaluation of corporate governance and the Risk Management and Internal Control Framework, and an audit of subsidiaries) that take into account the existing risk assessment procedure employed by the Company and current business requirements
  • The head of the Internal Audit Unit regularly holds meetings with management, takes part in meetings of the committees, and regularly presents reports at meetings of the Audit and Sustainable Development Committee
  • Employees have the necessary qualifications to perform their work at the proper professional level, have a deep understanding of the specifics of the Company’s business and processes, and are guided by the Standards in their activities
  • The Internal Audit Unit’s activities are continuously being improved, for example, a project was implemented in 2017-2018 to automate the internal audit function
  • Stakeholders underscored the high level of professionalism and quality of audits

Plans to improve internal audit

Based on the recommendations that were given during the independent external assessment, an action plan was developed to improve activities. The plan aims to bolster auditors’ expertise in risks and control procedures related to information technologies and introduce an integrated approach to utilizing data analysis tools to perform internal audit tasks.

As part of the Program to Ensure and Improve the Quality of Internal Audits, work plans for the development of internal audit functions are prepared each year based on the results of internal audits. The development plan for the internal audit function for 2020 was approved by the Board of Directors on November 29, 2019. The plan includes measures to utilize data analysis tools to perform internal audit tasks, including studying the market of specialized software, update the standard program for verifying the ‘Information Technology Management and Information Security’ process as well as train employees on IT methods that can be used to conduct audits.

Внутренний аудит

Основной целью внутреннего аудита является содействие Совету директоров и исполнительным органам в повышении эффективности управления Обществом, совершенствовании его финансово-хозяйственной деятельности.

Цели, задачи, полномочия и место внутреннего аудита в организационной структуре Общества определены в Политике по внутреннему аудиту, утверждённой Советом директоров 21.08.2015 Протокол от 24.08.2015 № 152. . Функции внутреннего аудита в Группе осуществляет Блок внутреннего аудита ПАО «Интер РАО» и подразделения внутреннего аудита дочерних обществ: ООО «Интер РАО – ​Управление электрогенерацией» и АО «Мосэнергосбыт».

Деятельность внутреннего аудита осуществляется в соответствии с планом работы, утверждаемым Советом директоров. План работы на 2019 г. выполнен в полном объёме в установленные сроки. Приоритетные направления деятельности внутреннего аудита определены в соответствии с целями Общества с учётом результатов оценки рисков. План проверок охватывает все основные сегменты деятельности Группы: сбыт, генерация, трейдинг, инжиниринг. По результатам проверок сформированы рекомендации по устранению выявленных недостатков, на основании которых менеджментом разработаны планы корректирующих мероприятий. Выполнение планов контролируется подразделениями внутреннего аудита в форме мониторинга.

Результаты 2019 г.

Цифровизация внутреннего аудита

В сентябре 2019 г. Комитет по аудиту и устойчивому развитию Совета директоров поручил разработать план использования средств анализа данных для решения задач внутреннего аудита, в том числе изучения рынка специализированного программного обеспечения, а также обучения работников IT‑методам проведения аудитов.

В рамках деятельности Блока внутреннего аудита по предоставлению гарантий в 2019 г. выполнено 107 проверок (в том числе 78 ревизионных), а также 4 оценки эффективности систем, 28 мониторингов выполнения планов корректирующих мероприятий. В рамках консультационной деятельности внутреннего аудита по запросам менеджмента предоставлено 11 консультаций.

Независимая оценка внутреннего аудита

В 2019 г. компанией АО «Делойт и Туш СНГ» впервые проведена независимая внешняя оценка функции внутреннего аудита ПАО «Интер РАО».

По заключению независимых экспертов деятельность внутреннего аудита Общества в целом соответствует Международным профессиональным стандартам внутреннего аудита и Кодексу этики Института внутренних аудиторов (ИВА). Оценка охватывает организационную структуру, политики и процедуры, а также процессы, в рамках которых они применяются.

Ключевые выводы по результатам оценки:

  • Деятельность Блока внутреннего аудита построена на принципах независимости и объективности и высоко оценена руководством Компании.
  • План аудита включает различные виды аудиторских проверок (оценка корпоративного управления, системы управления рисками и внутреннего контроля), ревизионные проверки дочерних компаний, учитывая действующую в Компании оценку рисков и актуальные требования бизнеса.
  • Руководитель Блока внутреннего аудита регулярно проводит встречи с руководством, участвует в заседаниях комитетов и выступает на заседаниях Комитета по аудиту и устойчивому развитию с предоставлением регулярных отчётов.
  • Сотрудники обладают необходимой квалификацией для осуществления деятельности на должном профессиональном уровне, глубоко понимают специфику бизнеса и процессы Компании и руководствуются стандартами в своей деятельности.
  • Деятельность Блока внутреннего аудита непрерывно совершенствуется, к примеру, в 2017–2018 гг. был реализован проект по автоматизации функции внутреннего аудита.
  • Заинтересованные лица подчеркнули высокий профессионализм и качество проверок.

Планы по совершенствованию внутреннего аудита

На основании рекомендаций, полученных по результатам независимой внешней оценки, разработан план мероприятий по совершенствованию деятельности, включающий усиление компетенций аудиторов в области рисков и контрольных процедур, связанных с информационными технологиями, внедрение комплексного подхода к использованию средств анализа данных для решения задач внутреннего аудита.

В рамках реализации Программы обеспечения и повышения качества внутреннего аудита по результатам проведённых внутренних оценок ежегодно формируются планы работы и развития функций внутреннего аудита. План развития функции внутреннего аудита на 2020 г. утверждён Советом директоров 29.11.2019Протокол от 02.12.2019 № 260.. План включает мероприятия по использованию средств анализа данных для решения задач внутреннего аудита, в том числе изучение рынка специализированного программного обеспечения, обновление типовой программы проверки процесса «Управление информационными технологиями и информационная безопасность», а также обучение работников IT‑методам проведения аудитов.